Virtual Wind III Conference: the current challenges for offshore wind energy in the North Sea.

18 November 2020

Join ORE Catapult with Fraunhofer IWES for the VirtualWind III conference to discuss challenges for offshore wind energy in the North Sea.
ORE Catapult is teaming up with Fraunhofer IWES, to host the VirtualWind III online conference focusing on the current challenges for offshore wind energy in the North Sea. With sessions on electrical infrastructure and floating offshore wind, join us on the 18th of November to hear from a wide range of experts.
The event is free, please register here to participate.

For more information – Vicki Greig, ORE Catapult, +44 (0) 141 559 7004, vicki.greig@ore.catapult.org.uk or Lisa Bösch, Fraunhofer IWES, +49 (0) 471 14290 544, lisa.boesch@iwes.fraunhofer.de .

____________________________________________________________
Program Event
timings are in Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) / Central European Time (MEZ)
8.15 a.m. (GMT) / 9.15 a.m. (MEZ)
Welcome: Prof. Andreas Reuter, Managing Director, Fraunhofer IWES and Andrew Jamieson, Chief Executive, ORE Catapult
Keynote: EU’s offshore strategy – Giles Dickson, Chief Executive Officer, WindEurope
Block I: Electrical infrastructure
Chaired by Christian Broer, Head of Department Validation and Reliability, Fraunhofer IWES
09:00 a.m. (GMT) / 10:00a.m. (MEZ)
“A review of regulatory arrangements for offshore networks” – Dr. Callum MacIver, Programme Manager – Electrical Infrastructure Research Hub, University “f Strathclyde
09:30 a.m. (GMT) / 10:30 a.m. (MEZ)
“Trends in grid integration of offshore & onshore wind” – Aris Gkountaras, Key Expert Renewable Power Plants & Grid Markets, Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy
10:00 a.m. (GMT) / 11:00 a.m. (MEZ)
“Necessities of electrical tests on test benches from the perspective of the industry“ – Christian Fenselau, Chief Specialist Test and Validation, Vestas Nacelles Deutschland GmbH
10:30 a.m. (GMT) / 11:30 a.m. (MEZ)
“Current determination of electrical properties of wind turbines on test stands and outlook on future grid requirements“ – Torben Jersch, Head of Department System Technology, Fraunhofer IWES
11:30 a.m. – 12.00 p.m. (GMT) / 12:30 p.m. – 01:00 p.m. (MEZ) Break
Block II: Floating Offshore Wind (FOW)
Chaired by Paul McKeever, Head of Strategic Research, ORE Catapult
12:00 p.m. (GMT) / 1:00 p.m. (MEZ)
“Dynamic Cabling – The challenges unique to FOW“ – Roberts Proskovics, Team leader – Turbines“, ORE Catapult
12:45 p.m. (GMT) / 1:45 p.m. (MEZ)
“The SETWIND lighthouse initiative“ – John Olav Tande, Chief Scientist, SINTEF Energy Research
1:30 p.m. (GMT) / 2:30 p.m. (MEZ)
“Experience in the design optimization and analysis of global system dynamics of FOWs“ – Mareike Leimeister, Research Associate Division System Technology, Fraunhofer IWES
2:15 p.m. (GMT) / 3.15 p.m. (MEZ)
End
At the end of each presentation you will have the opportunity to ask questions to the speaker using the chat function. Please note that this session will be recorded.