What is EERA?

A public research alliance

The European Energy Research Alliance (EERA) is an alliance of European public research centres and universities. It is one of the cornerstones of the European Strategic Energy Technology Plan (SET-Plan).

Brings together More than 250 research organisations & universities

EERA brings together around 250 research centres and universities across 30 countries. Actively working together on 17 joint research programmes (the EERA Joint Programmes), they build on national research initiatives and work on shared priorities and research projects.  The EERA Joint Programmes are aligned with the priorities for low carbon technologies defined in the SET-Plan.

Collaborating with Industry

EERA works together with industry stakeholders to align research and innovation priorities. This collaboration aims to foster world-class technology and innovation in Europe’s energy sector, and to reduce the time to market for technologies.

Global outreach

EERA Joint Programmes are important points of contact for collaboration outside Europe. EERA members regularly represent the European scientific community globally, collaborating with international partners worldwide.

Helping to align national research

EERA has fostered the creation of national energy research alliances in many countries, including the United Kingdom, The Netherlands, Spain and Belgium. These national alliances help coordinating activities at national level and within EERA.